Special Group + WiTH Collective lead Kiwi agency pack at shortlist stage of 42nd AWARD Awards

Special Group + WiTH Collective lead Kiwi agency pack at shortlist stage of 42nd AWARD Awards

The finalists for the 42nd AWARD Awards have been announced today across all categories. Special Group New Zealand leads the Kiwi agency pack with 21 finalists, followed closely by WiTH Collective with 20 finalists.


TBWA\New Zealand and FCB New Zealand with six finalists apiece; Saatchi & Saatchi New Zealand has four finalists, Liquid Studios has three and Assembly has one finalist.

By section, the agencies with the most finalists include:

Advertising – CHE Proximity with 39; Leo Burnett Melbourne with 14; WiTH Collective with 13; DDB Sydney, Special Group New Zealand, and VMLY&R Melbourne with 9; M&C Saatchi with 8; Special Group Australia with 7; Clemenger BBDO Melbourne and Saatchi & Saatchi Melbourne with 6; and BMF with 5.

Design – CHE Proximity and Saatchi & Saatchi Melbourne with 3; DDB Sydney, Leo Burnett Melbourne, Special Group New Zealand, TBWA\HAKUHODO and TBWA\New Zealand with 2; and Birger Linke Design, Headjam, Houston Group, M35, Tencent, whiteGREY, and WiTH Collective with 1.

Craft – Revolver with 10; FINCH, Rumble Studios, The Glue Society with 7; VMLY&R Melbourne with 5; Bear Meets Eagle On Fire, Special Group New Zealand, Tencent with 4; and ARC EDIT, Buck, Clemenger BBDO Melbourne, DIVISION, Liquid Studios, M&C Saatchi, Photoplay / Playtime, Scoundrel, Squeak E. Clean Studios, and TBWA\Thailand with 3.

Film & Entertainment – BMF and Special Group Australia with 5; CHE Proximity, Special Group New Zealand, and The Monkeys Melbourne with 4; M&C Saatchi with 3; and Clemenger BBDO Melbourne, Saatchi & Saatchi New Zealand, Thinkerbell, and WiTH Collective with 2.

Innovation – CHE Proximity with 2; and Eardrum, McCann Australia, Saatchi & Saatchi Melbourne, TBWA\New Zealand, and Thinkerbell with 1.

Media – CHE Proximity with 7, Leo Burnett Melbourne and WiTH Collective with 3; Special Group Australia with 2.

Purpose – Saatchi & Saatchi Melbourne with 5; whiteGREY with 4; CHE Proximity with 3; Leo Burnett Sydney and Thinkerbell with 2.

Planning (APG Creative Strategy) – BMF with 5; Special Group New Zealand with 3; M&C Saatchi and Saatchi & Saatchi Melbourne with 2.

Planning (Brand Building) – M&C Saatchi with 1.

The AWARD Awards ceremony will take place virtually via a live-stream on Friday 21 May 2021 3pm (AEST). Register to stream it here.

AWARD will also be holding a three day creative festival in the second half of 2021 which, among other things, will celebrate and highlight the winners at an in-person cocktail function. More details will be announced soon.

Special Awards will be announced at the festival.

Chairs for the Juries are:
Digital – Claudia Cristovao, Google, APAC
Press, Poster and The Dark Arts – Mandie van der Merwe, M&C Saatchi
Media Thinking – Tom Martin, Special Group
Impact – Samira Ansari, FCB, NY
Design – Jamie Mitchell, M35
Culture – Lauren Costa, JOAN Creative, NY
Sound – Justine Armour, Grey, NY
Film – Laura Petruccelli, Goodby Silverstein & Partners, San Fran
Craft in Motion – Kim Gehrig, Revolver / Somesuch, LA
Life-Changing – Genevieve Hoey, Freelance
APG Creative Strategy & Brand Building – Chrissy Blackburn, West 82nd

AWARD thanks all judges for their time and dedication to the awards. A full list of judges can be found here.

AWARD would also like to thank its sponsors Adstream, Alt.vfx, Campaign Brief, Google, Stellar Entertainment, and The Editors.


Special Group + WiTH Collective lead Kiwi agency pack at shortlist stage of 42nd AWARD Awards